The Next Big Thing

Image
 
I get to be Queen For A Day as I talk about The Next Big Thing. I’ve been tagged by fellow author Donna Fasano who writes terrific women’s fiction. I’m supposed to tell you about my next book by answering the following questions, and then I have tagged five other authors who will tell you about their Next Big Thing. Let’s get started!
 
What is the working title of your next book?
 
Cut and Run (the third installment of the Rachel Scott series)
 
Where did the idea come from for the book?
 
It is book three in the Rachel Scott series. I wanted to set the book in New Orleans – I city that I love to visit. It has voodoo, alligators, and a missing family.
 
What genre does your book fall under?
 
Suspense
 
 
Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
 
 Scarlett Johannson as Rachel Scott and Charlize Theron as Stacy Case. Michael Chiklas as Red Cooper.
 
What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
 
A family vanishes in New Orleans, and a grisly clue tells investigator Rachel Scott she’ll need to act fast to save them from a horrifying fate.
 
Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
 
Thomas and Mercer (Amazon’s Suspense/Thriller Imprint)
 
How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
 
Two months
 
What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
 
I don’t know of any missing persons series to compare it to but some readers have compared my writing as a cross between James Patterson and Mary Higgins Clark.
 
 
Who or What inspired you to write this book?
 
The idea for the series came about when I was watching the Natalee Holloway story unfold. I wonder what happened to all the people like her who just vanish without a trace. And I thought it would be great to have a person who ran a missing persons investigation company that was devoted to helping solve those types of cases. Rachel Scott and Florida Omni Search was born!
 
What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
 
Rachel Scott, my main character, started Florida Omni Search after her own daughter vanished without a trace from their front yard.  You can read the prequel to the series, Look for Me, just released on Amazon. Perfect for new readers to the series and  a great story for those who are already fans of Rachel Scott and want the background story on Rachel to read while waiting on the next book!
 
Here are some lovely authors I’ve tagged to tell you about what they’re working on. Look for their posts and consider trying…their Next Big Thing!
 
 
 
 
 
 
About Traci Hohenstein

Full time writer, beachbum, and mom to 3 terrific kids.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

